Composite image of the 2023 CCFF Cohort
Top row: Torry Bend, Maurizio Forte, Jose Maria Rodriguez-Garcia, Liz Kalies, Ryke Longest.
Bottom row: Valerie Sabol, Kerilyn Schewel, Amy Schmid, Cameron Wolfe, Dan Vermeer

Representing a diversity of academic disciplines across Duke University, the following cohort of 10 Climate Change Faculty Fellows (CCFFs) will work together with lead instructors Emily Bernhardt and Norman Wirzba to shape the second iteration of UNIV102.

Torry Bend is an Associate Professor of the Practice of Theater Studies.

Maurizio Forte is William and Sue Gross Distinguished Professor of Classical Studies Art, Art History, and Visual Studies at Duke University.

José María Rodríguez García is an Associate Professor of Romance Studies.

Liz Kalies is the Lead Renewable Energy Scientist for the North America region of The Nature Conservancy, and an adjunct associate professor at the Nicholas School of the Environment. She develops sound science to support the clean energy transition, particularly focused on renewable energy siting and design practices. 

Ryke Longest is Director of Clinical Programs at the Duke University School of Law, and serves as Co-Director of the Duke Environmental Law and Policy Clinic. Longest has a secondary appointment to the faculty of the Nicholas School of the Environment. His interests include climate justice, water quality, water resources, and soil conservation.

Valerie Sabol is a Clinical Professor and the Interim Vice Dean, Academic Affairs at the Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON).

Kerilyn Schewel is a Lecturing Fellow in the Duke Center for International Development in Sanford’s School of Public Policy and Co-Director of the Duke Program on Climate-Related Migration (PCRM). Her research examines the root causes of human migration. 

Amy Schmid is David M. Goodner Associate Professor in the Department of Biology.

Cameron Wolfe is a Professor of Medicine, in Infectious Disease.

Dan Vermeer is an Associate Professor of the Practice of Business Administration and founder and director of Duke University’s Center for Energy, Development, and the Global Environment (EDGE).